Blog post

Seaside Elementary, is one of six Horry County Schools with a new Commercial Compost Program

with SMART Recycling. Lunch room “left-overs” are now separated into recycling, compost and landfill trash.

Ocean Bay Middle School, a certified SC Green Step School, is also participating.

Commercial CompostLandfill Trash



SC Green Step Schools Hall of Fame:

2018 Green Steps Schools

Overall School of the Year

RESTORE School of the Year

PROTECT School of the Year

  • Catawba Trail Elementary


AC Moore Elementary School

Barclay School

Burgess Elementary School

Catawba Trails Elementary

Christ Church Episcopal School

Conder Elementary School

Daniel High School

Dutch Fork Elementary Academy of Environmental Science

H E Corley Elementary School

Irmo Middle School

Lake Carolina Elementary Lower Campus

Lakewood Elementary

Meadow Glen Elementary School

Oakview Elementary School

Ocean Bay Middle School

Pleasant Hill Elementary School

Reach Home School Group

River Bluff High School

Slater Marietta Elementary School

Sneed Middle School

St John Neumann Catholic School

Taylors Elementary School

Whale Branch Elementary School

Wren Elementary School


Central Elementary

Clemson Elementary School

Dacusville Middle

Doby’s Bridge Elementary

Dutch Fork Middle School

Dutch Fork High School

Forestbrook Middle School

Lakeview Elementary School

Meadow Glen Middle School

Mid-Carolina High School

Northwood Middle School

Pickens Elementary School

Port Royal Elementary 

Pickens Middle School

River Ridge Academy School

Springfield Elementary

St. Joseph’s Catholic School

Tamassee DAR School

Walhalla HS